II Spanish Workshop in Development Economics

We are pleased to announce the call for papers for the II Spanish Workshop in Development Economics hosted by the Navarra Center for International Development (NCID). This workshop aims to provide a platform for exchanging ideas and constructive feedback on ongoing research in Development Economics. We seek to foster collaboration among researchers affiliated with universities or research centers in Spain, promoting the visibility of their work and establishing a vibrant community dedicated to advancing development economics research.

The workshop encourages submissions from academics linked with Spanish institutions on social and economic development topics in low- and middle-income countries. We particularly invite PhD students at any stage of their program to submit their work. A special session will take place to showcase PhD students' papers. Additionally, we welcome submissions from academics (including PhD students) affiliated with institutions outside Spain.

There will be no registration fee for the workshop. However, participants are responsible for covering their own accommodation and travel expenses. On October 24th, we will invite participants to an informal dinner to network and socialize.

We look forward to your participation in this enriching event and to the fruitful discussions it will inspire.


Submission Guidelines:

Please submit your full paper or extended abstract using this form. The deadline for submissions is June 16, 2024. Priority will be given to full papers. Authors of accepted papers will be notified by the end of August.


Keynote speakers:

We are honored to announce our distinguished keynote speakers for this event: Prof. Enrique Siera from Michigan State University and J-Pal, and Dr. David K. Evans from the Inter-American Development Bank.


Scientific committee:

Elisabetta Aurino (Universitat de Barcelona), Jorge García Hombrados (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid), Jaime Millán-Quijano (Navarra Center for International Development), Teresa Molina Millán (Universidad de Alicante), and Ana Tur-Prats (University of California, Merced)

Submissions of papers